The farm was established 300 – 400 AD and has had owners running the farm for over 1500 years. In 1908 Akershus county bought the farm and established an agricultural school on the other side of the road from Store Hvam. Store Hvam was preserved and opened as a museum in 1915.
The farmers who lived on Hvam were wealthy as their buildings demonstrated dimensions way above average. Today, the farm resembles how it looked in 1820 when the latest buildings – the yellow house, was set up. The majestic buildings on the farm made it apparent for passersby to understand that great people owned this farm.
The farmyard consists of seven buildings where the storehouse divides the farm into two courtyards. The inner yard is where the dwelling houses are and the people slept. The outer yard is where the animals lived and the operations of the farm took place.
Wellknown artists have used Store Hvam as inspiration when making illustrations for the traditional Norwegian folktales.
The farmyard offers visitors great space to relax, enjoy the scenery, and learn about how farmers used to live back in the days. It is a sought out atmosphere most costumers come back for.